The Eurovision Song Contest 2022 will be held on May 10, May 12 (Semi Finals) and May 14 (Grand Final).


  • 41 countries will be taking part. This means that all 2021 participants will return, plus Montenegro and Armenia, who are back after a short absence.
  • The European Broadcasting Union membership of Belarus is still suspended after last year's problems, so the country isn't allowed to take part.
  • The European Broadcasting Union made two announcements. First, the number of participants will from now on be limited to a total of 44 countries. Second, the radical change that started as a try-out in 2021, is now permanent: backing vocals (the number of which can be as high as the artist wants) are allowed to be pre-recorded. So there is no need for live backing singers anymore, although this is still allowed.